Hi Everyone!

   Thank you so much to Arlene for allowing me to come and chat with you today!

I’m a Regency romance author who writes (mostly) sweet romance (I’ve got some spicier historical fantasy romances, in case you’re interested). I’ve been writing and publishing for twenty years (I still can’t believe it!), starting out with Zebra Regency (remember those??) and then moving to self-publishing when it started (I’m a bit of a control freak and rather do everything myself). Since I’ve been writing for so long, I’ve got a ton of books out. You can click here to see what I’ve got.

My newest series is the Zodiac Series, and yes, it’s just what you might think—there will be twelve books going in order of the zodiac. In each book, the hero and heroine are introduced by Lady Rebecca Preston, a scholar of astrology, who believes (and is proven right) that she can tell whether two people are destined to be together based on their sun sign and an odd tingling in her fingers. So far, she’s two for two, and I’m working on ensuring that she’s right the third time.

I’ve got an excerpt from the first book in the series, The Determined Debutante, below, and you can learn more about the second book in the series, A Willful Wallflower, at my website. And, as I say, I’m currently writing book three, Count Chameleon (that one’s a spy novel, which is so much fun!).

So, where does the “magic” happen? Right here:

 

 

Yes, I’m embarrassed to say, that I write (and do all my work: editing, formatting, etc) on my sofa (it’s an extremely comfy sofa!). I’ve got a desk which I use every so often, but the couch is so much more comfortable!

Let me point out a few key items in that picture if you will. First, I’ve got my laptop sitting on a lap desk because I usually sit with my legs crossed. When I need to stretch out, I’ve got a forty-year-old camp trunk (covered by a cloth to hide the fact that it’s incredibly battered). On the trunk is a basket filled with pens. Goodness only knows how many there are, but as you can see, there are a lot! I love pens! I’ve got ballpoints, gel pens, felt tips, and (on the shelf closer to the wall, where you can’t quite see it) a fountain pen and a quill with a metal tip, along with a bottle of ink for dipping. On the shelf above my quill is an ink blotter with an inlaid marble top (because when one writes with a quill one must blot ink, naturally). The blotter belonged to my husband’s grandfather. I’ve got a couple of other quills on the closer shelf, but I don’t use those as much.

I also have a bottle of water—because it’s important to stay hydrated—and, out of the picture is a clock which I try to keep an eye on to ensure that I get up every hour to walk around so I’m not sitting the entire day (I also go to the gym every other day and try, now that the weather is warming up, to get out for a walk).

So, that’s where I write! And now, please enjoy the excerpt, and if you’d like to have a copy for your very own, you can find it here:

https://meredithbond.com/the-zodiac-series/

♥♥♥

Chocolate Tahini Bread

 

Ingredients

1 ½ cups mashed ripe banana (about 3 bananas)

1/3 cup plain nonfat yogurt (not Greek-style)

1/3 cup tahini, well stirred

3 Tbs unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 large eggs

½ cup sugar

½ cup packed light brown sugar

6 ounces (about 1 ½ cups) whole-wheat flour (preferably pastry flour)

¾ tsp baking soda

½ tsp kosher salt

¼-1/2 cup chocolate chips (depending on how chocolatey you want it)

Sesame seeds

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Coat a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan with cooking spray or butter.

Combine banana, yogurt, tahini, melted butter, vanilla, and eggs in a large bowl. Mix well either by hand or with an electric mixer. Add sugars, and beat until combined.

Combine flour, baking soda, and salt in a smaller bowl.

Add dry ingredients to wet. Mix until just combined (don’t over-mix). Fold in chocolate chips.

Pour into loaf pan. Sprinkle with sesame seeds. Bake for 55 minutes or until a wooden toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Try to cool completely, but good luck because everyone is going to want to eat it right away.😋

♥♥♥

The Determined Debutante

by Meredith Bond

Chapter One

 

“Ooof!” The pile of books Lady Rebecca Preston had been carrying dropped to the floor with a flutter of paper and one very loud thud.

“Oh! I do beg your pardon,” a young woman said, immediately squatting down to pick up the fallen books.

“No, not at all,” Rebecca said, joining her. “I’m not entirely certain it wasn’t my fault. I’m afraid I wasn’t looking where I was going.”

The girl laughed. “I had my nose in a book and wasn’t watching either.”

Rebecca smiled at the pretty young lady. Her auburn hair was pulled up, but a few strands of wavy hair had escaped, and Rebecca could see that one of her hairpins was about to fall out. She reached out and shoved it back into place before smiling into the girl’s surprised blue eyes.

“I do beg your pardon. Your hairpin was about to fall out, and I, well, I couldn’t help myself.”

The girl’s cheeks flushed delicately. “I’m afraid my maid isn’t very good at putting up my hair, but she’s learning,” she said, reaching to the back of her head to ensure her other pins were secure.

“It can be difficult to find someone experienced,” Rebecca agreed.

“Er, yes,” the girl said with hesitation.

They both stood up, now each holding a pile of books. Rebecca was surprised when the girl stood at her full height. She was extremely tall, taller than a number of men Rebecca knew. She was also, unfortunately, stick thin. Her gown hung on her like a sack—a sack made of good material and edged with lace, but a sack, nonetheless.

“I am Clarissa Ellison,” the girl said.

“Lady Preston,” Rebecca replied. “But you do know you shouldn’t introduce yourself?”

“Oh!” The girl turned a deeper shade of pink. “Uh, yes, of course. It, er, just seemed the thing to do,” she explained.

Rebecca smiled at her. Her eyes fell to the book at the top of the pile in her hands. “The Ladies’ Book of Etiquette and Manual of Politeness,” she read out loud.

“I believe that one’s mine,” the young lady said, snatching it back.

Rebecca gave a little laugh. “Yes, obviously.” She could practically hear the girl swallow with embarrassment. “You wouldn’t happen to be new to Town?”

She gave a little nod and lowered her gaze to the books in her hands.

“It’s perfectly all right. I am not a such stickler for propriety,” Rebecca reassured her.

Miss Ellison lifted her gaze with a grateful expression. “Thank you. My aunt would be mortified if she knew…”

“No need to tell her. This will be our little secret.” Rebecca looked around. “Is she here, your aunt?”

“Oh, er, no. I snuck out of the house to come and purchase these books, I’m afraid. I do have my maid with me, though!” the girl added quickly. “I remembered to bring her.”

Rebecca nodded slowly, trying her hardest not to laugh. “That’s very good. You should never venture out without either your maid or a footman.”

“Yes, I was warned of that.”

Rebecca spied one of her own books in the pile the girl was holding. “I believe the Hutchins Almanack is mine.”

Miss Ellison moved the top book to the bottom of the pile and opened the book that was now on top, as it had nothing on the front cover. “Hutchins Improved: Being an Almanack and Ephemeris of the Motions of the Sun and Moon for the Year of Our Lord 1809.” She looked up with her eyebrows drawn down. “What is that—if you will excuse me for asking?”

Rebecca took the book and added it to her pile. “It’s a book to help me calculate horoscopes.”

She shook her head, not understanding.

“Have you heard of the Zodiac?” Rebecca asked.

“No, what is it?” Miss Ellison asked, clearly very curious.

“The position of the stars at your birth. They determine what sort of person you are and, some believe, can even be used to predict times when good things will happen and bad,” Rebecca explained.

“Really? I’ve never heard of such a thing.” The girl was clearly fascinated, which made Rebecca happier than it ought.

“Oh yes, it is something people have studied since biblical times. The Greeks studied it extensively, as have the Arabs, Chinese, and Indians.”

“Goodness! And it is something you study as well?”

“Yes. It’s a fun hobby of mine.” Rebecca paused and then cocked her head a little. “Tell me when you were born, and I can tell you a little about yourself.”

Miss Ellison’s eyes widened. “March 27th.”

Rebecca nodded. “You were born under the astrological sign of Aries. It means that you are very energetic and competitive. You’re also very caring and an excellent leader. But you can be impulsive and not think things through before you act.”

Her mouth dropped open.

Rebecca chuckled. “I see that I am right.”

Miss Ellison just nodded.

“Are you in Town to make your debut, Miss Ellison?” Rebecca asked.

“Er, yes, yes, I am,” she answered with a quick shake of her head as if to clear it for the change in topic.

Rebecca nodded. “Well, I should warn you, then, to try to wait until you have met a good number of gentlemen before choosing one to marry. I do hope your aunt is very levelheaded.”

Miss Ellison frowned. “I suppose you could call her that. Uninterested would probably be more accurate.”

The little snort of air escaped Rebecca as she tried to hold back her laughter. “Oh, dear. Well, if you need any assistance, please do not hesitate to call. I go to all the best engagements and know a great many people.” She fished a calling card from her reticule. “If you’ll accompany me to the counter, I’ll write my direction on the back.”

“Thank you! You are so very kind, ma’am,” the girl said as she followed in Rebecca’s wake.

♥♥♥

Winning isn’t everything when love is on the line.

Clarissa Ellison is your typical Aries: everything is a competition. So, when she makes her debut into Regency London Society, she determines that in order to "win" the Season, she must get a proposal from the Duke of Drayton. The only problem is that his closest friend, the handsome and thoughtful Lord Uxbridge, is quickly becoming someone she can't live without.

Jonathan, Lord Uxbridge, has always been called "Ox" for the obvious reason—he's big. But, as a true Gemini, there are two sides to this man. To the world, he's outgoing, but in private, he relaxes by painting beautiful miniatures. Because his size generally puts fear into the eyes of young ladies, Ox had planned on never marrying. But a large bequest to be given on his wedding day makes him decide otherwise. He sets his mind to winning Miss Buttery-Clements, who can match him for size, but his heart has decided on another—the fascinating and delicate Miss Ellison.

The two decide to be just friends, setting aside the advice of their friend and astrological scholar Lady Preston, but the stars—or is it destiny? —will ensure this is a match made in the heavens.

Meredith Bond
Magical Romance
 
 
Coaching & Formatting
 
Co-Founder Annessa Ink Publisher
 
Back to home page