Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog
J. Arlene Culiner: A Romance Writer's Blog

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog READER – WRITER – RESOURCES – & MORE

 
Meet Guest Author Jill Culiner/J. Arlene Culiner…


Young, I set out to have a life of adventure and discovery, not one of security and comfort – although those things can certainly can seem appealing when caught in one of life’s more distressing moments. Alone, I’ve crossed much of Europe on foot, I’ve travelled, by bus, train, car or truck throughout North and Central America, Europe and the Sahara. I’ve also lived in unique places — a Hungarian mud house, a Bavarian castle, a Turkish cave dwelling, on a Dutch canal, in a lonely, very haunted stone house on the English moors. I’m presently in a 400-year-old former inn in a small French village.

My Home

My sort of lifestyle means staying flexible and taking up any sort of work that presents itself: belly dancer, fortune teller, translator, fashion model, b-girl, story teller, radio broadcaster, actress, social critical artist, photographer and writer. I’m lucky enough to have discovered forgotten communities, met strange characters, and to have had some very odd conversations. And, yes, I incorporate all of that information into my books and stories.

I like to have my books published in the traditional way, but I do prefer to work with small presses. As J. Arlene Culiner I’ve had five romances published; as Jill Culiner, two mysteries and a narrative non fiction work. I’ve just finished writing a non-fiction biography about Velvel Zbarzher, an itinerant, largely-forgotten 19th century poet. That project that had me burrowing through the archives of Paris and Vienna, taking trains to Ukrainian and Romanian villages, and spending a lot of time in squalid bars (he did love low places and heavy drinking.) The manuscript has recently attracted the attention of a publisher. I’m also polishing up a narrative non-fiction about life in a Hungarian village for another publisher, so I’m keeping all my fingers crossed. I narrate audiobooks as well, and I have a podcast — Life in a Small French village — that can be heard here:https://soundcloud.com/j-arlene-culiner

My Writing Space

I don’t find writing easy. I heartily dislike writing first drafts, and I have to force myself to sit down and work at them. But when the draft is done, I start having fun. It takes me a long time to write a book: I’m not one of those authors who can pop out something new each month or each year. I don’t write every day, sometimes I don’t write for months. I don’t have one set work place, or a ritual, or a favorite drink or food. However, I do my best to polish each paragraph until it shines, to tell really good stories with humor and great characters, and to write intelligently so both my readers and I learn about things we didn’t know.

I’m also a musician (amateur, sometimes semi-professional) and I play in several bands and orchestras. I play flute, piccolo, oboe, English horn and recorder, but my main instruments are the baroque oboe and the very modern euphonium (that’s a small tuba): how’s that for variety? The house I live in, is a former village café and inn, and it is much the same as it was over a hundred and fifty years ago. I open it to the public on Heritage Day (called Journées du Patrimoine in France.) I anyone is curious about it, take a look here: http://jill-culiner.com

And, Chris, I think that’s quite enough about me for the moment.

Website/Blog – Twitter – Facebook

Goodreads – Pinterest

Storytelling Podcast

KOBO – FNAC

Barnes & Noble

Amazon:

USA – UK – CA – AUS – IN

Back to home page
Share this post
Repost0
To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
About me
J. Arlene Culiner

Writer, photographer, social critical artist, and impenitent teller of tall tales, J. Arlene Culiner, was born in New York and raised in Toronto. She has crossed much of Europe on foot, has lived in a mud house on the Great Hungarian Plain, a Bavarian castle, a Turkish cave dwelling, a haunted house on the English moors, and on a Dutch canal. She now resides in a 400-year-old former inn in a French village of no interest where, much to local dismay, she protects spiders, snakes, and all weeds. She particularly enjoys incorporating into mysteries, non-fiction, and romances, her experiences in out-of-the-way communities, and her conversations with very odd characters.
See the profile of J. Arlene Culiner on the Overblog portal

Comment on this post
Recent posts
Guest Authors Joyce Proelle and Brenda Whiteside and their Delicious Recipe for Jalapeno Cornbread Mystery, Cornbread, Food for Love, Recipe
Guest Authors Joyce Proelle and Brenda Whiteside and their Delicious Recipe for Jalapeno Cornbread

Welcome, Brenda Whiteside. Tell us about you and your Chocolate Martini Sisters Mysteries: I started life as an...

April 15 2024

New Release!  Fangs, Fur and the Single Girl  from author Lisabet Sarai Shifter Vampire UrbanFantasy Menage Polyamory LoveTriangle Werewolf Alpha NewYork BloodDrinker ParanormalRomance, EroticRomance,
New Release! Fangs, Fur and the Single Girl from author Lisabet Sarai

Welcome, Lisabet Sarai. Tell us all about you, your books, and your new release, Fangs, Fur and the Single Girl...

April 4 2024

Chocolate Chip Cheesecake, Author Neil Plakcy and his Mystery: Blessing of the Dogs Mystery,, Chocolate Chip Cheesecake,, Neil Plakcy, Blessing of the Dogs, Golden Retrievers
Chocolate Chip Cheesecake, Author Neil Plakcy and his Mystery: Blessing of the Dogs

I didn’t get the wedding I wanted. Sure, I married the man I love. We’ve been together for nearly twenty-six years,...

March 29 2024